Chasing Words

Maybe it’s a writer thing – or an artist thing – but do you ever just get too many ideas in your head? Writers are notorious for starting projects then stopping midway to start a newer, better project. Maybe it’s the scattered right brain thing. Or the creative, head-in-the-clouds thing. I don’t know. I wish I was one of those people who was super organized with post-it and charts and bulletin boards and shit. But I’m just not like that. My life is chaos, my office is chaos, my brain is chaos. But it’s how I work best, honestly.

I generally can balance this chaos with self-discipline. No, not the kind that keeps me off Facebook and from stupid YouTube videos, unfortunately, but I can usually stick to writing one book at a time. I believe in finishing projects. I make money off of finished projects and I like money.

This winter is a little different for some reason. I think my ADD is slipping into my work habits. Again, I don’t mean watching stupid cat videos when I’m supposed to be working. I mean that I’m having writer ADD. I can’t decide which project I want to work on and when. So for right now, I’m working on three different books. One more than the others, because I made myself a deadline for it, thank goodness!

It’s frustrating that I have more ideas than I do time to write them. Even writing full-time isn’t enough to keep up with what my brain wants. (Other writers who have day jobs are giving me the finger right now.)

Anyway, I’m not really sure where I’m going with this. Sorcha did a post about NanoWriMo so I figured I’d do one about keeping up with writing too. Hers is better. I’ve been writing all day. My brain is fried.

Something smells good. Must be dinner. Did I mention I have ADD? Oh, look! Something shiny!

 

siggyleia

Leave a Reply

